Cleaning advice

Twingo Forum

Help Support Twingo Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sullii94

Reaction score
So after owning the car a few years, I figured I best clean it properly and try remove a few light scratches
So before I start I am a complete newbie to this haha

Was thinking:
Jetwash & wash with shampoo etc
Clay bar
Polish
Wax

In that order..
Does it sound okay?
And what products do people recommend to remove scratches etc

Thanks in advance :D

Hi,

If you've got a pressure washer may be worth thinking about snow foaming! its great as a pre wash removes alot of the dirt etc before the main wash that a pressure washer rinse doesn't always remove

For light scratches and marks I tend to use Mer ultimate car polish which buffs alot of them out.
Using Mer I also have never had to clay, but clay/polish etc is personal choice and depends alot on the polish you chose to use.
The only thing i do have to admit about mer is its a pain in the bum for leaving white powder residue on your car so your best giving it a dust before waxing lol!
Ive also heard great things about poor boys black hole glaze (for dark/red cars) which can hide scratches and marrs to your paint work, not used it myself yet though!

Went and got some stuff last night, halfords is offering 3 for 2 on cleaning products
Got meguires(however you spell it) clay bar
Auto glym polish and wax(glass protectant thing)
Just going to use 2 random microfibres cloths to apply with
Didn't get any fancy shampoo, but I am going to try the 2 bucket method :D
And I have a jetwash, but no snow foam :/ is it worth getting?

Autoglym and Maguires stuff tend to be gpod on the whole, I use Autoglym for shampoo, fast glass wheel cleaner etc.and meguires tyre dressong is my must have excellent wet look shine lasts ages ( just make sure you dont drive the car for approx 3 hours afyer applying)