Been offered a Transfer..

Twingo Forum

Help Support Twingo Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ollie133cup

Reaction score
Alright guys,

Been offered a transfer from my work in Aberdeen to Houston Texas .

Basically I'm an Offshore Service Electrician, I've been quite a few places around Europe with my work even at the age of 21.

Now yesterday the Service manager at our Houston base offered me a transfer over to Houston ( I'm currently there now) , if my bosses in the UK ok it. So I would be cruising the Gulf of Mexico oil rig hopping in 30+ degree heat .

My head says Yes as it is a ******* amazing place and I'm driving a 5.0 V8 Chevy truck ! But my heart says no as I love my family and most of all my doggie. :) .

I do tho have more fors then againsts ....

:D

My first reaction was. I would rather chew my leg off and beat myself with the soggy end than work full time in the gulf. Unless I have only seen the worst of them, redneck drillers and rousties 24/7 would do my head in :(

Keeping an open mind, go for it... But make sure the door is still open to step back (if you are/were happy with your current post)

You don't want to turn it down and regret it, have a good think and decide from there :) maybe even talk with your family and see what they think? And I agree with Neil, you should make sure that if things were to not be as good as they seem over there, that you can still jump ship back to the UK.

Go for it mate if u don't like it or get home sick then transfer back home. If u don't do it your live to regret it

Like most people have said. Go for it but still keep your options open in the back here :)

Import a LHD twingo to America ;)

Once in a life time chance, you have to go for it especially when you're so young.